The Colors of Memories

Standard

I’ve seen my share of sunrises and sunsets. As a kid, I was usually at the barn with Papa before the sun was up; but it would always appear before we were finished with morning chores. When the sun was setting, we were usually in the garden or in the chicken coop gathering eggs or at the hog pen feeding the hogs. Regardless, we were always ready to witness the rising and setting of the sun.

Those were beautiful, too! There was nothing like watching the sun dip below the tree line of our pasture or watching it appear over the tree line of our neighbors’ property. If we were in the barn, the rays of sun would stream through the cracks between the boards of the barn walls. I remember being in the loft one morning during a sunrise, and my papa opened the loft door so that we could watch it together. He always made sure he took a minute or two out of his busy day just to appreciate the majesty of the sun. Of course, he would always have some witty comment to make, too. “It sure is pretty, but now it’s gonna get hot.” He always had a way of putting things in perspective. I miss his humor and wisdom daily!

Now, I live in the “biggest” city in Arkansas; and I still see several sunrises and sunsets. I drive into each of them going to and coming from work every weekday. Some would probably be more beautiful if it weren’t for all of the buildings, billboards, and power lines obscuring my sight. Occasionally though, you can see a beautiful reflection of the sun and clouds in a few of the downtown skyscrapers with mirrored windows. I’m sure the people working on the top floors of those buildings probably have spectacular morning and evening views. I hope they’re not missing the opportunity of their great vantage points.

On October 23, 2014, there was a spectacular sunrise on my way to work – so spectacular, the buildings didn’t matter. I actually left the house a little earlier than usual and was just in awe of the colors sprayed across the sky. I’m a firm believer is not using my phone while driving, but this sunrise was too awesome to pass up. Pictures were necessary! My drive is approximately 20 minutes – depending on the traffic. Before I ever reached my destination, the deep, rich colors had faded into a “regular sky”. It was such a blessing to witness.

Sunrise 3, 10/23/14

Sunrise – just beginning my drive to work

Sunrise 4, 10/23/14

Sunrise – almost ten minutes into drive

Sunrise 6, 10/23/14

Sunrise – colors changing quickly

Sunrise 8, 10/23/14

Sunrise – colors almost gone – very near the office

Leave a Reply

